Sin

Sin

 

When I was growing up, there was a lot of conversation about sin.  I had sin on the brain.  Avoiding sin. Thinking about sin. Regretting sin. Wondering whether something was a sin. The subject of sin occupied much of my waking thoughts.

 

Catholics like the idea of sin. They repent from sin, confess sin.  They have lists of sins, types of sin.

 

I never mentioned sin to my kids. There was no mention of sin.  I never told them to watch out for sin.  They were light, full of light.  They did not have anything heavy like sin to pull them down into the dark. We can live our whole life without sin.  We can wake without sin and sleep without sin.

 

I don’t miss it.  I don’t  miss the way the sky seemed darker with the sin hanging from the trees, darkening the sky. I’m glad my kids grew up free of sin.   Sin is only real if you believe in it.

Published in: on April 11, 2017 at 7:50 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2017/04/11/sin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

