California rainstorm

 

We need the rain and the moments to collect ourselves.

The onslaught of reckoning with all this sudden water.

On Valentine’s Day, I could not move, but Tobi drove me around to meetings.

And then, too sick for sushi we just planted ourselves with chicken soup and I read him Neruda love poems. When I got better, he was sick, so I have been cooking, stuffing peppers and making sweet potatoes.  We are in a killer slump from heavy work and in a fateful happiness to find ourselves looking into books, peering at poems, not rushing, not thick with papers.  The pile I have to edit stares back at me and when I am well, I will prowl into my office and make it disappear. Until then–wet air, sleepy dog, breathing.

Published in: on February 19, 2017 at 11:49 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2017/02/19/california-rainstorm/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

