I can buy whatever I want, she told me. And what she wants is a tuna fish sandwich.

I can buy whatever I want, and I can do whatever I want on the disability check they give me, my friend tells me.  She’s been on disability for most of her adult life for a host of medical problems.

And what does she want, that her disability check can buy?

She wants a tuna fish sandwich. And egg salad sandwiches. And tuna casserole.  She wants television and she is fine with getting only one channel.  NBC has everything I need, she says.

 

I live in Los Angeles and my needs are not as simple.  I want music and time to write, I want friends and lots of books to read.  I want blueberries and smoked salmon, the New Yorker and the New York Times online, I want big ideas to walk around in, I want smart people in my life so I can hear what they have to say.  I want time outside to see the caterpillars and the rose buds bursting. I like lemon honey and the Hollywood Bowl, trips to San Francisco and trips to France.

 

My friend, with her tuna fish sandwich might be accused of having a small life, but her life is quite happy.

 

“I have arrived. I am here. My destination is in each step.” ~Thich Nhat Hanh says.

 

I am thinking of happiness in steps. And, because I want to be in shape, spiritually and physically, I plan to take a lot of steps.

Published in: on August 2, 2016 at 11:33 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2016/08/02/i-can-buy-whatever-i-want-she-told-me-and-what-she-wants-is-a-tuna-fish-sandwich/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

