Walking in a thunderstorm

Today after workshop, I swam a mile and after that, I could see that there was a terrific downpour like the whole sky emptying onto the earth, like Amy Hassinger’s reading last night which was about a downpour that fell onto the mushroom families with the crenulated undersides which makes you think of the undersides of things and the undersides of families and the undersides of people and even the undersides of countries which are collections of people and in the case of the U.S., our underside is, apparently, very dark with racism and a singular willingness to “other’ people belonging to groups not our own and make decisions about us and about them, us usually being vastly superior to them and us deserving to have guns while they do not, and us deserving money, happiness and all good things, and they, well, did they earn it?  Are they coming across the border illegally? Do they believe in God?

I walked through the downpour until every part of me was dripping, my entire dress dripping onto the bridge and the path.  I took off my shoes and walked in the grass.  The thunderstorm was all around me, cracking of lightning.  I wasn’t sure whether I was safer in or out of the trees. I know what to do in earthquakes or how to hop out of the way when a tumbleweed rolls toward you. I don’t know where to stand in a lightning storm.

A lightning storm creates electricity. Electricity causes energy.

Like candy. At the program here, they give out peppermint patties, which I’m very fond of.

Thick green peppermint light sliced by lightning.  Lightning changes the world.

The world is changing.  I

The Dalai Lama says:

We all have to live together, so we might as well live together happily.

I want to end with the Dalai Lama, but I also want to say that the rain built a new block of green thought in my head which might turn into a story.

In the story I’m writing about myself, I forgive anyone who has wronged me and I absolutely hope to be forgiven myself.  I have worked very hard over the last year to search my soul to find all the ways that I need to change my thinking, and then yes, I am working on the cathedral of my own soul and understanding that I must change my life.

Published in: on July 18, 2016 at 11:39 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2016/07/18/walking-in-a-thunderstorm/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

