Where you shop

 

I read an article recently by Dylan Landis. She tells of her husband taking her to buy lingerie at Neiman Marcus as a way of comforting her.  I like the story, but it made me think about shopping.  My husband has taken me shopping at H & M for my birthday.  We have never been to Nordstrom, Neiman Marcus, Saks.  Once in New York, I went to Bergdorf Goodman.  I just walked around.  I thought I would buy a scarf or a pair of earrings, but there was not a single thing I could even vaguely afford.  I never went back. I have a friend for whom I collect clothing.  She buys clothing at the Salvation Army and I’m sure she would consider my annual forays to buy clothes at H & M, (last time we spent $87.) quite extravagant.

 

When you are writing a novel, it is important to think about your characters. What they eat, drink. What music they listen to. Where they shop. And it’s important to not judge your characters too harshly if they shop at the 99 cent store. Or if they shop on Fifth Avenue in the fanciest shoe stores.

 

Things I never buy when I’m feeling down:

Perfume. Shoes. Jeans. Bathing suits.

Things I sometimes buy to cheer myself up:

Books. Plants.  Socks. Boots.

Published in: on June 28, 2016 at 10:08 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2016/06/28/where-you-shop/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

