All I see are gray clouds.

Cleveland is wet and cold.

When I landed, I rented a car.   I couldn’t find a classical station.

I listened to Death Cab for Cutie and remembered my kids going to see them in Hollywood before they were famous and I thought, what a name for a band!

“All I see are gray clouds,” they sang, and it is the right song for Cleveland.

I have Morgan Freeman on Waze directing me around Cleveland.  “I am vice president, but you are president of this car,” he says.

I visited Mac’s Backs-Books and talked with the owner.   I bought the Children’s Home by Charles Lambert.  I am very excited about reading it. I love this bookstore, it feels lively, energetic, cozy.

Cleveland is an old city.  Compared to the huge hot thrum of Los Angeles and the busy moneyed streets of San Francisco, Cleveland’s streets and buildings look dark and solid.

I went to Severance Hall and though about George Szell conducting there and how many recordings I have from this great symphony, and sometime when I am in Cleveland, I will go there.

The building I was most excited by is the Peter Lewis Building, a Frank Gehry building which I saw from all angles. A structure with many angles glittering against the grey sky.

Tonight I am going to an Italian restaurant with my editor and fellow writer.

Tomorrow New York.  The air here is thick with water.  All I see are gray clouds.

Desire and water.x00119-9-2jpeg-79b5b01152f532ac

Published in: on March 10, 2016 at 3:10 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2016/03/10/all-i-see-are-gray-clouds/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

