I will be right here waiting for you

Rita Wilson can sing and gather groups of performers to make magic.  It was a liquid evening, Rita’s laugh, her long hair, a completely authentic spontaneous fun time. The whole night was what I want the literary world to be: The lilt of music inside story, an authentic delightful evening where creators were sharing rather than competing.  We sat at a small table right beside Tom Hanks and their three children.

 

The show currently on stage at the Geffen is Liner Notes, a singer songwriter round table.  Each musician tells stories about songs and then perform them.  We heard  Richard Marx , Andrew Doolittle, Michael Farrell, Jessi Alexander, Jon Randall and of course Rita Wilson.  Since I have heard very little country music in my life, I didn’t even know the song, “I drive your truck,”  and I kept wondering what Karen was going to say when I told her I’d been listening to country music, but actually, I loved the whole performance.  Richard Marx has three sons, all musicians, and one of them, Lucas Marx performed a song which was fabulous, and he is as gorgeous as his father.    It was a liquid evening full of joy, and it ended with Richard Marx singing, “I’ll be right here waiting for you.”  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S_E2EHVxNAE

If there are any tickets left to Liner Notes, you want to get one.

Published in: on December 12, 2015 at 11:40 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2015/12/12/i-will-be-right-here-waiting-for-you/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

