Gratitude in Germany in spite of the cold

I am grateful for my family, for living in a world of books, for the many people I know who are working to make the world a better place.

Often we spend time thinking about what makes us angry in the world and that can be a pretty long list. Once you’re better informed, better read, have listened to good podcasts, you know even more problems to be angry about.  I am angry about all those issues as well.  I want the world to be a better place, a kinder place, a place without bullying or racism, without mean girls or thug boys, without weird undercurrents or waves that engulf us.  Here in Frankfurt, I hear how terrible it is to live in Belarus, about the fighting in Israel, the drought in California, the ongoing violence in Syria.

One of the paradoxes of being human is that we are deeply concerned about the wrongs in the world, and we do whatever we can to solve those problems, while at the same time, we can experience gratitude for the good parts of our lives and joy for those who love us.

I am happy that I have wonderful kids, and that my husband loves me.  I’m happy about this book I’m reading.   I bought a Ben Loory book at the Book Soup store LAX.  Stories for the Nightime and Some for the Day.  There’s one story about this guy who writes a poem which he self publishes, 14,000 copies, and a lot of people like the poem, others dislike it.  The poem makes him famous and he attracts a pretty reporter who he marries.  Years into his marriage, he writes another poem which he hides in a drawer.  I think the point is that what poets want is happiness and if you had that, you wouldn’t have to write any more poems or you wouldn’t want to get the poems published, you’d be okay with being an invisible poet if you were a visible person.  What we want is to be visible to someone.  That’s a bit of happiness.

I want the world to be a better place, and I will do what I can, but in the meantime, I’m grateful for the good things in my life.  I’m grateful for those who love me and for the red leaves falling out of the cool air in the moist German air.  I need to learn how to order beer in German.  Goal for next Frankfurt Book Fair.

Published in: on October 12, 2015 at 1:28 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2015/10/12/gratitude-in-germany-in-spite-of-the-cold/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

