My friend Jacqueline Tchakalian is having her launch party on Saturday night at Beyond Baroque

What Do I Know

Babies, irises have to push their way

into this world, meringue beats lighter

in a copper bowl, ants avoid alum, cast

iron pans are best for frying fish or potatoes.

I know how to prune a peach tree, cut suckers,

drop dead from laughter once or twice a year.

It is possible to darn a garment with human hair,

stitching so fine you will have trouble finding the tear.

My husband will become amorous when I prepare his

favorite meals. If he should die first, leaving me alone

with arthritic hands and knees, I won’t be able to trim tall

hedges, move ladders, solve the thorny problem of the second

pond. I will miss him; then I won’t.

http://www.jacquelinetchakalian.com/events.html

Published in: on September 21, 2015 at 8:07 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2015/09/21/my-friend-jacqueline-tchakalian-is-having-her-launch-party-on-saturday-night-at-beyond-baroque/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

