Running, writing, reading, breathing

On some days you run, you read, you want to write but your brain is shaky.

You say to yourself, it’s just a day.

But the way you finish a book is by writing on the on days and the off days.

The way you run is to run on the off and the on.

I am not counting the days.

And I have known the eyes already, known them all—
The eyes that fix you in a formulated phrase,
And when I am formulated, sprawling on a pin,
When I am pinned and wriggling on the wall,
Then how should I begin
To spit out all the butt-ends of my days and ways?
               And how should I presume?

I am writing through them to the other side and there will be another mountain.

Published in: on September 20, 2015 at 2:11 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2015/09/20/running-writing-reading-breathing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Writing a book is a humbling experience. I knew back in the day, at just 10 years, that there is something special about putting a book together. But time will tell.


Leave a Reply

