You can’t have everything you want.

vavoom 087

When  I was in graduate school, one of my friends married a guy who was almost fifty. I swore then that I would never be married to an old man.

When my husband and I got married, I told him I wanted him to live forever.

I almost choked over sickness and health.  I told him, I am good on the sickness and health as long as you don’t get sick.

For richer or poorer I said was also fine as long as we still could afford cappuccinos. You can’t make this stuff up.  I actually told him when we were dating that it was mandatory for us to make enough to afford for me to have cappuccinos. True love!

I know a guy who is married to his fourth wife. It occurred to me the other day that he had never had to endure menopause.  That’s a thought.  If he hasn’t been married to a woman over forty, has he missed anything wonderful?

While you’re married, at some point, you change the rules.  We all change the rules if we change at all.  Some people cannot stay in a marriage where the rules are changed.

Change the rules. Change the game. Change your dress size. Become a hunter. Give up hunting. Become a swimmer, a runner, a gambler.  Become a thin person. Some men don’t want their wives to be thin because then they’d have to be nice to them. A confident man wants his wife to be as beautiful as she wants to be.

I want my husband to live well, to be healthy, and he is getting better all the time.  We’re going to sushi tonight and then I think we’ll stop and get a cappuccino.

Published in: on May 12, 2015 at 5:37 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2015/05/12/you-cant-have-everything-you-want/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

