We need the wet,

11025142_10204783952612216_8424897231502663587_n

I like this picture Stephen took today. He’s driving through the national parks.

All this rain has been great. Water rushing down the sidewalks. We need the wet.

Our lives feel like they’re busy/crazy/fun. One of the things about Los Angeles is that whenever you are anywhere, you are thinking about the next place you need to go. At the party this Saturday, I was talking with Martin Sheen, and I was thinking about the next place we needed to go. I remember being at the PEN party last year and watching Mark talk with Harrison Ford and thinking two things: One, I wished I hadn’t had the second martini, and Two, I wondered if we would get home in time to relax in the library. We are always rushing to the next thing. We should breathe.

Tomorrow we are going to dinner with Ron and Bianca at Brigante and Wednesday night I am going to Musso and Franks with the new director of PEN. Friday I am speaking at the Last Bookstore at a Poets and Writers event. Saturday I am speaking at the Pasadena Festival of Books and Saturday night we are going out to dinner with Ron Carlson. We are going to hear Eric Whitacre at the Los Angeles Master Chorale Sunday night.
http://www.lamc.org/performances/2015-03-08-songs-of-ascent
I leave for NY next week on Thursday. But fortunately, when I come back we are going to the beach for a writing weekend.

It’s hard to find time to write when everything is rushing along. Sometimes my life feels like air is rushing by me and what I want is those strands of air, but I can’t catch them. The good parts of your life are like catching sunlight. You can’t actually catch them in your hands, you have to just be with them.

I need some time to write, but as soon as I come back from NY, I will have that time. Breathe, I say to myself, breathe.

Published in: on March 2, 2015 at 9:57 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2015/03/02/we-need-the-wet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

