I wonder about Nebraska

IMG_5494

In Nebraska, they refer to dinner as supper. They have more corn and beef than in So Cal, and they like pie.  This careful research on Nebraska food choices was done by me at the Lied Lodge in Nebraska City.  I’ve also been to Wayne, Nebraska.  We make assumptions based on experience, and we believe that experience cannot be wrong.

But of course, it can. If you marry, three not very bright women in a row, experience will teach you that women are not bright. If you raise three rowdy boys, you will think boys are rowdy.  You could very well be wrong.

Each year I spend three weeks in Nebraska, three weeks in New York, five weeks in Europe, some for work some for writing retreat, and another seven weeks total of being on business in Chicago, San Francisco, and other parts of the U.S. When you travel, you have experiences and then you think you know.

We have been to four dinner parties since we got back from Nebraska in early January.  The first one we had a wonderful conversation about world peace.  Everyone there was working for world peace and we were working on books.  Then there was a sushi/hot tub dinner party with Karen and Mike which is always fun although I maybe overdid it on the sake.  Then we went to a dinner party in Pasadena and talked about books some more with our friends Bob and Lisa and of course, life, the universe and everything.    Last night we went to Malibu for a dinner party with Petra and Helmut and talked about travel and life.  The conversations are what make it all worth it.

However, I wonder, as I dress for dinner parties in So Cal whether my friend Karen in Nebraska can wear jeans to every dinner party she goes to. Are dinner parties more relaxing in Nebraska? Do they serve beer?  I don’t even own any jeans.  Also, in Nebraska, would you be invited to a supper party? Or is it still a dinner party?

This morning I woke up so ill with a migraine that I couldn’t even see straight, and Mark dropped me at the shiatsu place so I could spend an hour going between the cold and hot pools and then got a shiatsu massage and I plan to go back tomorrow.  When I have the crud, as I call it, that’s the only thing that really helps.  So I haven’t really gotten anything done today except like around in a semi haze.  I’m starting to feel like a person again though.

If I ever decide to change careers, which wouldn’t be easy since I am not sure what my current career is, but if I did, I would not be a Los Angeles weather person.   Here’s practice for that job:  Today it’s going to be 72 degrees. Tomorrow and the next day and the day after that and every day for the next month, it’s going to be between 70 and 72 degrees except Thursday when it will get going down to 68 degrees.

Being sick makes everything seem very clear.  Being a weather forecaster is not for me, at least not in Los Angeles.   Writing seems like a good thing.  I think I’ll keep doing that.

Published in: on January 24, 2015 at 8:04 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2015/01/24/i-wonder-about-nebraska/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

