Showing Off

iphone2 074

You little show off you, stuff it, shove it, stow it away, put down your wings, stop flapping, quit preening, quit boasting, quit bragging.  I heard all that as a child but now that I’m not a child, I can strut around a little, spread my peacock wings, I can blow my horn, toot my whistle, flap my arms.

Kids like to show off.  “Watch me mom, watch me jump, run, skip, watch me dive.” Kids like their parents to see their little antics because they’re just learning to use their bodies and all the ways that the body works are exciting.  Watch me fly.  Watch me leap tall buildings in a single bound.  Watch me.

But usually, as we grow up, someone talks us out of bragging about what we do.  Someone says, Sit down, hush up, be quiet.  It’s unseemly to brag.  Especially if you’re already a grownup.  You are supposed to be quiet about your accomplishments.  Men like to talk about what they’ve done. In my opinion, women don’t talk enough.   Think about it, what if you went to a party and men actually went around listening to men tell them what they’ve been up to, what their big deeds are.  It’s hard to imagine.

I’m half kidding about all this because if you’re around someone who brags all the time, it’s super boring.  They’ll say you’re self centered, narcissistic and full of yourself.  So I wouldn’t suggest doing it all the time, but once in a while, even if you’re a woman, it’s a fine thing to be able to say this is what I did. You just have to choose the right audience.

My husband’s family is not interested in my accomplishments, big, small or otherwise. Not that I have heaps of them, but you know.  His mother just spent the night and went away without finding out a thing about me.  But, that’s pretty normal with in-laws.

I am very interested in my daughter’s partner Molly’s accomplishments, but I’m the kind of mom who likes to know what’s going on with my entire family.  I am so proud of my daughter-in-law works at the Huntington Gardens as an herb gardener.  I tell everyone about her.

However, if I want to tell someone something exciting that I am working on, my family always wants to hear.  I have a few girlfriends who like to know as well.  With my own tribe, I like being able to be excited about something I am doing or thinking. That’s the key. Who can you get excited with? If you don’t have a tribe, find one, because at any time in your life, you might start to do something exciting.

Some people like to think that we have a window of opportunity when we can do things.  That the window closes when you’re 35 or 40 or 50.  Our author Ellen Meeropol started writing at 50.  Harriett Doerr published her debut novel at 74. I started running marathons at 40.

You are not invisible.  You are a writer.  There is no door. There is no window.  There is no end of the road as long as you draw a breath.  You can always get up in the morning and get started or start over.  You can always create, think and grow.  There is no window that will close.  The whole sky is a window and my whole life is a sky.  I have opened all the windows.  I have walked out into the sky.

Published in: on December 18, 2014 at 5:31 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2014/12/18/showing-off/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Reblogged this on Random Lines Working.


Leave a Reply

