Beach House event a smash

pismo3 005

Afternoon at the beach working but still so much work to do.
Fill in this sentence, I’d rather be…

In some ideal world, we would rather be doing what we are actually doing right now. I am actually in a cool room at the Beach House listening to Brendan Constantine who is reading aloud in the next room with such vigor and I’m remembering how much I loved being read to as a child, especially the Narnia stories.

I am happy right now being here. I feel good. I’m doing a reading tonight with people I like: Kim Dower, Ron Koertge and Jim Tilley. Eloise Klein Healy is coming to read as well. It’s going to be a surprise, but if you’re reading this, you know now. I wish we could serve white wine here, it would make it feel more French. Well, as French as a Southern California beach can possibly feel.

Things I would rather not be doing but should learn to enjoy anyway:
1. Driving. I drive about 25,000 miles/year and you’d think I could be a racecar driver with that kind of practice. I’ve put in my 10,000 hours, but still, driving skills fall over my shoulders like rain.
2. Talking on the phone to anyone I don’t know. Answering the phone if I don’t know who’s calling.
3. Walking into a party where I don’t know anyone.
4. Having someone talk at me.
5. Having people give me ideas of what I can for them. (Makes me want to sleep.)
6. Cleaning the house, frankly I’m not a big fan. Also not a fan of a dirty house. My house is clean. Figure it out.
7. Doing any kind of budgeting. Working with numbers.
8. That part when someone says, There’s something I have to tell you, and you know it’s going to be bad. I don’t want to hear the next part.
9. Going to mall. It’s annoying.
10. Most kinds of shopping.

What I would rather be doing:
1. Sleeping. I love waking without an alarm, fully rested.
2. Swimming. Everything about being in the water makes me happy.
3. Running. Sometimes it’s hard, but I like it.
4. Listening to music. It just makes me so happy to hear the music and the candles.
5. Writing. Reading a book, just swimming around in language and feeling this thrumming of my mind.
6. Being at Disney Hall listening to music.
7. Did I mention sleeping?
8. Eating sushi.
9. Drinking champagne.
10. Being with friends with whom I can be myself.
11. Movies with popcorn.
12. Having a great conversation with my family and friends.

Published in: on May 13, 2014 at 10:14 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2014/05/13/beach-house-event-a-smash/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

