City Lights reading tomorrow at 7 pm, with Peggy Shumaker, Douglas Kearney

kk 005

Off to San Francisco for a reading at City Lights; after Chicago, I’m ready to breathe. Cicily Janus was here in town doing music meetings with her friend Tim. Tobi and Molly were in town, we went to Ren Faire Sat and then had a big sushi party that night with my ex-mother-in-law and her boy friend. She’s eighty but still has a blond boyfriend as she did when I met her in 1983, thirty years ago. She always keeps the dancing going, and she thinks that I’m all that and a bottle of Jack, so that’s a good thing. By the end of the board meeting today though, Mark and I were ready to just kick it.

We saw Gravity which I realize everyone else on the planet has already seen, but now we’ve seen it and that is off the list so we don’t need to see it any more. Much as I like Sandra Bullock, and I do, she has gifted the film world with so many fun frothy little movies, it’s like drinking boba, there really is no nutrition but there are these weird little spongy balls that remind you of food. Generally, that’s what I think about Sandra Bullock movies, but this is supposed to be an important movie about life and death and space.

I like movies that you want to see again and when you do, you learn more about story and magic. Not sure I need to see this movie again. Bad things happen to Sandra’s character and they keep happening. I never really registered what her name is, and that is part of the problem. You are always acutely aware that this is a movie with actors George Clooney and Sandra Bullock; you never really register who their characters are; it’s really about watching these actors. But you need more than that to make a movie. Sexy Beast is such a movie. It’s all about the acting, but there’s story and great film making. This movie was a little skinny on story.

In space movies, the lone survivor is often a woman who appears in her underwear. You will recall Sigourney Weaver in her underwear. Of course in Prometheus we get to see more than one girl in her underwear. I feel good about surviving space travel but if I am going to survive, I’d like a cat like Sigourney Weaver had. With a cat I could survive a zombie war. The cat would warn me of zombies. Cats and dogs would definitely be of use in case of a zombie apocalypse.

It’s the end of the semester, and I’m running out of words.

Published in: on May 4, 2014 at 9:38 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2014/05/04/city-lights-reading-tomorrow-at-7-pm-with-peggy-shumaker-douglas-kearney/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

