Wednesday-Saturday in Chicago!

Chicago, Here we Come!

6:00 pm
THURSDAY, APRIL 17, 6 PM
SEMINARY CO-OP BOOKSTORE
5751 S. WOODLAWN AVENUE

Nicelle Davis and Kate Gale!

I’m excited about going to Chicago. I need to get out, see the world, travel, visit all the capital cities, be expelled from them one by one. Just like Casanova! My friend, the poet Nicelle Davis and I are going to Chicago for three days, at least I’m going for three days. I have to get back on Easter because 4/20 is Mark’s birthday! And we have to go out for sushi etc.

Nicelle and I are speaking at a conference on poetics, and then, Red Hen meetings and this reading at the Seminary Coop. The other thing that I am planning for Chicago involves going to the Russian Tea Time. I’ve had some good times there over the years, drinking flights of vodka and eating borscht. I really like Russian food, and at the Russian Tea Time, they also have all different kinds of vodka—horseradish is my favorite.

The Goldilocks Zone tour is going well, and it does go on and on. I can see why authors like doing the whole tour in six weeks of hard travel. Because I teach, I can’t do a six week tour. I am doing an eighteen month tour for GZ and my fall release book Echo Light and working around my teaching schedule and Red Hen meetings/travel.

The reading is exciting, but all this travel is just a tad bit exhausting. As soon as I get home, I pack for the next trip, I drop off my clothes at the cleaners and I get ready to go again.

In my dream life, I get enough sleep and I’m not doing quite so many things. I like the idea of eight or nine hours of sleep a night. I’d be like a new woman. Not that the woman I am isn’t fantastic enough, but I would be even more fantastic with a lot more sleep. Ah well, that’s what the summer is for. Sleep, writing and dreaming.
April 17 at 6:00 pm – Seminary Co-Op, Chicago IL with Nicelle Davis
April 23 at 7:00 pm – Diesel, A Bookstore, Brentwood CA with Rex Wilder
April 24 at 7:30 pm – Mrs. Dalloways, Berkeley CA with Douglas Kearney and Peter Kline
May 5 at 7:00 pm – City Lights, San Francisco CA with Peggy Shumaker and Douglas Kearney
May 13 at 6:30 pm – Annenberg Beach House, Santa Monica CA with Kim Dower, Ron Koertge and Jim Tilley
June 18 at 7:30 pm – The Press Club, Portland OR with Ursula K. Le Guin
August 17 at 5:00 pm – Busboys and Poets, Washington DC with Douglas Kearney and Michelle Chan Brown
September 10 at 7:00 pm – New England College, Henniker NH
September 13 time TBD – Poets House, New York NY with Nicelle Davis and Gregory Orr
October 23 at 4:00 pm – UCSC Living Writers event, Santa Cruz CA with Andrew Lam
November 13 time TBD – Colorado College, Colorado Springs CO
November 20 time TBD – Wayne State College, Wayne NE

http://www.semcoop.com/event/poetry-reading-kate-gale-nicelle-davis-seminary-co-op-bookstore
https://www.librarything.com/venue/20/Seminary-Co-op-Bookstore
http://www.chicagoreader.com/chicago/poetry-reading/Event?oid=13065634

ll 259

Published in: on April 14, 2014 at 8:54 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2014/04/14/wednesday-saturday-in-chicago/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. check out the house of blues gospel brunch if you’re in chicago on a sunday. http://www.houseofblues.com/venues/clubvenues/chicago/gospelbrunch.php


Leave a Reply

