Elliot Bay Books

bb 001

What an amazing place! Elliot Bay is such a legendary bookstore and Kim and I were proud to read there. The audience listened with rapt attention and asked great questions afterward. Kim and I went to dinner at Quinn’s Pub with Maggie, the poetry editor of the Los Angeles Review. They had yummy food and pretty amazing cocktails. After the reading we went to Cupcake Royale where they had these ridiculous cupcakes that were beyond delicious. I never have desserts any more, so it was kind of crazy decadent. And we never eat baked goods so between the great breakfast this morning and then tonight, I feel like the amount of food I’ve eaten today is just plain silly. But good. And the drinks were good too. But the reading was the best part of all. I am loving reading from this poetry book, and reading with Kim is always a pleasure. The people at Elliot Bay couldn’t have been nicer.

Tomorrow I fly to London for the London book fair. We are having a reading in London with Alicia Stallings, Adrianne Kalfopoulou and Lisa Krueger. It will be great. I am flying through Iceland and I look forward to landing on Icelandic soil. I would like to be able to visit Iceland for real sometimes and travel around and see what the country is like. I read my graduate students’ work all the flight up here, some great stuff they’re writing. I like to imagine we are all in the swim of the story and how fast we swim is not the issue, we just need to keep swimming.

My next reading is a panel at the Los Angeles Times Book Festival at 11 am and a reading at Beyond Baroque at 8 pm on Saturday April 12th. See you there!

Published in: on April 5, 2014 at 10:17 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2014/04/05/elliot-bay-books/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

