San Francisco

new 001

We’re driving up to the Bay Area Wednesday and I’m looking forward to it. I always like going to SF. The air, the bustling, the noise don’t bother me. I like the houses, the architecture, the houses stacked together like hat boxes. I like the ridiculous narrow streets and the hills. The view of the ocean, and the many bridges. I’m sure if I lived there it would bother me that it’s hard to get around because of all those bridges. My daughter lives near the Mission, and I always have loved the Berkeley Hills, but I like where she lives. Dolores Park is near where they live and they took us there to buy ice cream at some very yummy ice cream shop.

Friday night we are going to Kuleto’s which is supposed to be good and we’re looking forward to it. We are staying at The French Hotel as always and it is well worth it because the people are nice, and the coffee shop has the world’s best coffee. I love that coffee so much. I have been going to SF for 25 years and during that time have seen a lot but I’m sure not everything but it does feel like our second city especially since our daughter is up there. When Benjamin Saltman lived up there in Kensington we were up all the time and that’s when we started staying at the French in the early 90s. It wasn’t as nice as it is now. Everyone in our family has stayed there. Beside it is a store called Andronico’s which I also love because I used to shop there with Ben and there are two Thai restaurants across the street where I’ve had takeout many times and probably will on Wednesday night when we get into town.

My book tour for the Goldilocks Zone is shaping up! So far I am reading at Boston Court with Lisa Krueger and also with Lisa at D.G. Wills and then at Bookworks in Albuquerque and in Nebraska at Burnt District’s series, City Lights in SF, Mrs. Dalloways in Berkeley, Poets House in September with Nicelle and Gregory Orr, Beyond Baroque in March, the LA Times Book Festival, Elliot Bay and the Annenberg Beach House with Kim Dower, Busboys and Poets with Douglas Kearney, it is going to be a really fun year!

Tonight we’re going to dinner at Palomino’s with our friends Sarah and Travis and then to the Geffen Playhouse to see Hershey Felder in Abraham Lincoln. I’m not getting bored with my life, that’s for sure.

Looking to line up more readings!

Published in: on January 13, 2014 at 2:45 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/san-francisco/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

