What pushes your crazy switch?

yo 011

When my grandmother was alive, she would ask to leave if anyone entered the room who she considered “too ugly.” My grandfather hoped I would marry someone with a PhD thus guaranteeing myself a life of living with a roof over my head, completely ignoring the fact that living in a tent, tree house, igloo or even a houseboat might be just as good or better.

Preferences are one thing, crazy switch buttons are another. You might prefer to have wild caught salmon to farm raised salmon. You might prefer universities that have the quarter system over the semester system. You might prefer blue states to red states. Coastal states to Midwest states. Stand up comics to poets. Boys to girls.

Button pressing is another thing. It’s always kind of fascinating to watch someone’s crazy switch go off like the 4th of July. I have a friend who’s kind of weirdly crazy about money. I always find that interesting because money is so boring. I try to think about it as little as possible. I don’t save it or find it. I do need it as we all do, but as long as my bills are paid and I can buy Starbucks, I just don’t think about it. But for many people, money is a crazy switch. My friend spends extensively on fixing her bathrooms and kitchen and on vacations, but certain expenses drive her wild. We were talking about how she used to rent out a room of her house and she announced that if a renter/house guest showered every day the water would cost her “hundreds of dollars!” She said this with such vehemence I had to take several steps back. Water’s not free and no doubt adding someone to a household who bathes daily might raise the water bill as much as $10/month, not hundreds. I know this because I often have someone extra staying at my house. And I like the kind of house guest who does bathe daily. They smell better. My friend is very laid back about many things that other people would get nuts about, but certain money issues make her crazy.

Everybody has some crazy switches. What are yours?

Here are a few of mine:
1. People who want to be published so they can get tenure.
2. People who say, “What else can Red Hen do for me and my book?
3. People who criticize other people’s parenting but they have no kids themselves.
4. People who walk in front of car as if they were impervious to oncoming metal.
5. People who are always pissed off but don’t do anything to change their life.
I could go on, but I’ll quit, my laptop is dying because the power cord broke. Power cords breaking really flips my crazy switch.

Published in: on January 10, 2014 at 1:03 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2014/01/10/what-pushes-your-crazy-switch/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ooh – entitlement gets my hackles up like nothing else!

  2. #5 all day long! I can’t stand those who can’t help themselves.

  3. 5. Pajama bottoms as outdoor wear — especially grown men — it is an overextended, ridiculously unattractive “fashion” trend that I wish would go away. I want to ask these jokers do you sleep in the same pajama bottoms you wear all day outside, or do you have sleep time pajama bottoms for that? Inquiring minds want to know …

    4. Guys who sag their pants. Guys who sag their pants while riding a bike. Guys who sag their pants while riding a bike showing off their underwear like it is something someone else wants or needs to see. I DON’T!

    3. Women who come out of the bathroom stall, look in the mirror, pat their hair and leave the restroom without washing their hands.

    2. News media and armchair politicians who refuse to call President Obama “President Obama” — just Obama. Such a lack of respect. Dislike the man your choice, but respect the office. Please.

    1. Women with young children yakking on their cell phones oblivious to the fact that they are walking at least 1/2 block in front of their very young children who are struggling to keep up. And when WWYC suddenly remember that they “have” children with them, turn around and yell at them to HURRY UP! Little children. Little legs. Children. Often time toddlers. How about holding their hands Mom or carrying them and talking to them and not screaming at them??


Leave a Reply

