The best part of your life.

nydec 036 My son in 2011

The best part of your life.

For many people, the best part of their life was when they were in high school. For others, high school was the worst time of their life. They’re still suffering from some meltdown they experienced when they were teenagers. Seriously? I can barely remember high school. I hardly think that your adult life should in any way be determined by high school.

Then there’s college, also a high point for many people, that time in the bosom of the fraternity or sorority of their choice. Again, college is just a beginning to life. I had some good times in college—going out dancing, going to football games, I loved my classes. I loved skipping my classes and going to Mexico and swimming and drinking tequila on the beach. I loved going to the Grand Canyon and sitting there with my feet dangling over the edge. But I was ready to move on.

Then there’s falling in love. Many remember that as a truly magical time of their existence. And again, I’d agree that falling in love is good. Was good, is good. One falls in love and it’s great. It’s the beginning of a big thing that hopefully lasts the rest of one’s life. That’s why I always feel badly for people with many marriages. There’s nothing like a long marriage with its complexities, it’s strange combination of joys and challenges.

Then there’s building a life/body of work and raising a family and then helping those kids build a life of their own. That is the great time of life; all those crazy challenges, the wild building blocks of love and life and family, of finding out what you love to do and then learning how to do it well. That’s the stage I’m in now, and I love this stage. I love this stage because it’s a huge messy adventure. It has pieces that don’t fit, it has crowded parts and lonely parts. It has a party aspect and a quiet place, it’s the journey to where stars are born and back.

The best part of life is the one you’re living in right now. You can’t change the past so there’s not much point in living there, but you can enjoy the present and dream up a different future. The best part of life is right now. This moment. Now.

Published in: on October 27, 2013 at 8:53 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2013/10/27/the-best-part-of-your-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like your point of view, Kate. I wish “huge messy adventure” excited me as much as it sounds like it excites you. Generally I prefer safer than that. But I get your perspective in this article, and certainly agree that “now” is the best time to live. Thanks for sharing part of your life with us.

  2. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I really enjoyed
    reading it,you might be a great author.I will always bookmark
    your blog and will come back iin the future. I want to encourage that you
    continue your great writing, have a nice day!


Leave a Reply

