I don’t have time for that. I don’t have money for that. I don’t have the energy for this. Lies! All lies! You just don’t want to do it!

ll 001

Okay, that was a lie. I do not have the money to buy a yacht, a plane, a clipper ship. I don’t have the money for an apartment in NY, or to stay at the Ritz for a month or to go to Tibet.
But the fact is when we say we don’t have the money for things it usually means one of three things:
1. I would have to save the money as in I don’t have it right now.
2. This isn’t worth running up my credit cards for.
3. That’s more than I would like to pay for that item.
I could buy a designer dress or go to Italy or France. I could have a real hair style. I could say that I can’t afford Jimmy Choo shoes. I just checked and at Nordstrom I could buy them for a mere $500-$3000. But then I would have to go to Nordstrom and I’m pretty sure I don’t want to. I don’t want to spend that much on shoes. For me, $3000 is a down payment on a car. Also because the most expensive shoes in my closet are my running shoes which sadly close in on $100 and I know that all my little cheap shoes would get angry at the Jimmy Choos and there would be a shoe war in my closet whenever I was out of the house with my Nikes whipping the crap out of those Jimmy Choos. But honestly, I’ve never paid more than $200 for anything in my closet, and almost the whole closet, shoes, handbags and all was purchased for $40 or less. That’s a price I am comfortable paying for things I wear. I’m not comfortable paying anything for jewelry so all of my earrings and so on are gifts.

When you look at things someone is willing to spend time, money and energy on, you know what they really care about. I care about books, travel, writing, publishing, poetry, plants, my kids. I spend time, money and energy in those directions. I like short skirts. I like boots. I like to read on the steps of the New York Public Library in my short skirts and boots on a warm afternoon in September and remember that I started coming to NY because I love books and I love my authors and I love the frisk and swim of winter waters when the sky is hazy and you jump into the waves anyway, and after you’re already wet anyway, you’re glad you didn’t count the costs. Because you’re already there. Start swimming out toward the horizon. Keep on swimming. Don’t keep anything for the swim back.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2013/09/17/i-dont-have-time-for-that-i-dont-have-money-for-that-i-dont-have-the-energy-for-this-lies-all-lies-you-just-dont-want-to-do-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

