We have no air conditioning

kk 176 don’t you wish you could swim?

We have no air conditioning. Our AC unit bit the dust today and now we are sitting here in the heat and we feel like zombie kites.

I have been a zombie kite so trust me I know exactly what I’m talking about.

The whole house feels like it could go up in smoke at any time. The Valley is only about 100 degrees. It’s literally steaming here. We can see steam coming off our roof. We have opened every window and door in the house. I wish I could go up there and open the skylights but then when it rains, water would drip in or pour in.

Our house has two air conditioning units; the one that’s working is cooling the part of the house we don’t live in. The part we live in is boiling.

We called the air conditioning guy and hard though it might be too believe, he was busy. Really, you’re busy? I ask him. What’s with that? It’s only been boiling for days. But he’s coming tomorrow. And he is supposed to fix the AC.

Several summers ago our air conditioning went out completely and Jeff the AC guy couldn’t fix it. My mother-in-law came by when we were talking to him, and she said that living without AC wouldn’t be such a bad idea. Bad idea for whom? I thought.

That’s when I borrowed the $2800 to replace the AC from the one person I knew who would loan me money. I was so happy when I heard that AC roaring, I thought I had died and gone to heaven.

Air conditioning used to be the big thing in movie houses, so you would go to the movies to be somewhere cool. That was before I was born. By the seventies, most houses being built in California and Arizona had air conditioning.

I couldn’t live in Southern California without air conditioning.

Unfortunately, the statistics say that violence tends to rise during hot times. That is why I am keeping an eye on my dogs who seem to be fighting and on my cats who are on the verge of catfights. With the exception of the cats and dogs, things seem pretty quiet around here.

Stuff to do when it’s hot and I’ve tried everything on the list.

1. turn on the sprinklers and run through
2. take a cold shower
3. eat watermelon
4. go to sleep under a ceiling fan
5. drink beer
6. open all the windows and doors
7. turn on all the fans you have
8. eat sherbert and icecream
9. drink margaritas
10. go to sleep. Hopefully when you wake up the AC man will be there

Published in: on September 3, 2013 at 8:19 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/we-have-no-air-conditioning/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I grew up in Texas without AC. Ain’t fun. Sit in the bathtub in cool water until the AC man comes, then get out only after you hear the AC running. Peace.

  2. I pay a quick visit everyday a few web sites and blogs to read articles or reviews, but this weblog presents quality based posts.


Leave a Reply

