Be careful whose advice you buy, but, be patient with those who

kk 258
Be careful whose advice you buy, but, be patient with those who
supply it. …But trust me on the sunscreen…

Lots of people give you advice on how to live your life. Ask yourself if they are living their life perfectly. Or if they would take your advice.

Here are my rules for taking advice from anyone:

1. Never take advice from anyone unless you feel that they would take advice from you. If someone is talking down to you, they aren’t giving you honest advice. They are talking down to you to make themselves feel better.
2. unless the person you are taking advice from has solved their own problems, and I mean all their own problems, they aren’t that smart, are they?
3. Okay, that last one wasn’t fair. If you go by that, you would never take any advice from anyone. What about just remembering to only take their advice if it makes sense to you because they’re not perfect either.
4. The best advice is to solve your own life problems, to dig deep into yourself and figure out what you’re doing wrong and fix it.
5. Write in your journal. Figure out where you want to go.
6. Figure out who you want to be.
7. Figure out what you want to do.
8. Then move toward that goal.
9. People to take advice from are those who are moving toward what they want to do with their lives.
10. You were on the ground, now you’re up and flying. It’s fair to say that most of the people giving you advice just want to pull you down to earth. Keep flying.

I take all the advice I can get—but from the same few people, people who aren’t trying to tear at me, people who are glad that I’m alive and glad that I’m doing something and want me to do both more and less. They want me to do more creative work and less running around, more sleeping and breathing, less rushing and racing and panicking.

Try not to listen to anyone who thinks of you as little people; they will not advise you well. You may say that everyone thinks of you as little people. Come on, the kids at the park, don’t, do they?

Okay, maybe they do. Maybe you have no peers. Forget peers. Forget career ladders. Forget careers.

Advice. I want my life to swoon along the shores of the creative imagination. Most of the advice you are given is not about you. It’s about the giver. They are giving you the advice they wish they had taken. Only listen if the advice rings in your head and heart as what you already know to be true.

“Don’t act out of fear,” Deborah told me and although she doesn’t know me well, that sounded true.

“Take care of yourself,” Peggy told me and that sounded like a plan.

“Stand up for yourself,” Lisa said, and I could hear the beating of my own heart.

That’s always a sign. When your friends speak in the language of your dreams.

Published in: on September 1, 2013 at 8:47 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2013/09/01/be-careful-whose-advice-you-buy-but-be-patient-with-those-who/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this board and I find It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot.
    I am hoping to offer one thing again and help others like you helped me.


Leave a Reply

