Ron Carlson, Peggy Shumaker, Evie Shockley and Tess Taylor at Bryant Park tomorrow!

hh 291

August 19th, 2013

You used to be able to see the White House when you came to DC, but no more. The place is heavily guarded. There are guards under the trees, beside the bushes. Everywhere you go, there are guards. The cover of Atlantic says, “Drone Warrior,” and apparently we are concerned that people from other countries might be unappreciative of our drone warfare and that America’s constant bombing of other countries that haven’t attacked us might come back to haunt us. So we’ve sealed off the White House. I remember walking around it and feeling kind of pleased with its gardens and its size and its monumental grandeur. Now, I worry when I text people as I walk by it that someone is watching me.

And they are watching. They are listening. So in case Big Brother is reading this very blog, let me tell you that it would be nice if we could walk around the White House without feeling like criminals. I’m not a criminal for the record. Aside from speeding and jaywalking, I’m really pretty innocent. I’m not breaking laws, I just want to feel like I can walk around the nation’s capital and not feel like I’m in a police state.

I walked around the World War II memorial, there were many Germans walking around too, not sure what they thought of the fountains and the large inscription which announced, “AMERICANS CAME TO LIBERATE, NOT TO CONQUER,
TO RESTORE FREEDOM AND TO END TYRANNY.” Not sure that’s true of America, we haven’t exactly spread democracy in other parts of the world, but we like to think we do.

I walked up past the reflecting pool with a lot of ducks and geese swimming in it, to the Lincoln Memorial which I can’t see without thinking of The Planet of the Apes in which Mark Wahlberg lands his spacecraft at the foot of the Memorial only to find that the Lincoln statue is a huge ape and then he knows that apes rule the world. The apes are heartless and don’t care about humans. Food for thought. When I walk by the reflecting pool and see the benches, I think about Burn After Reading, and George Clooney sitting on those benches waiting for Frances McDormand to show up.

I like walking around DC. I went to Kramer’s Bookstore this morning and met my friend Amy there, and then I met Sarah and Dan from Split this Rock for lunch and tonight, I’m meeting with a friend who works at AWP.

Tomorrow NY! Come to Bryant Park at 7 pm. It will be a great reading, you don’t want to miss it!

Red Hen Press at Bryant Park

Featured Poets:Evie Shockley, Peggy Shumaker, Tess Taylor, Ron Carlson August 20, 2013, 7:00 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. Bryant Park, 42nd St and 5th Ave., New York, NY Please join Red Hen Press at Bryant Park on August 20 for a reading event featuring Peggy Shumaker, Evie Shockley, Tess Taylor, and Ron Carlson – See more at: http://www.poets.org/viewevent.php/prmEventID/12201#sthash.AzjKMr8y.dpuf

Published in: on August 19, 2013 at 2:49 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/ron-carlson-peggy-shumaker-evie-shockley-and-tess-taylor-at-bryant-park-tomorrow/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

