If I were a rich woman, what would I do then?

kk 014

When people think about wishing to be “rich,” whatever that means these days, they dream of the following:

1. Not having to work so hard. Or to have to work at all.
2. Having cooler stuff.
3. People being nice to you.

What’s interesting about this is that most people who really love their lives do so because they love the work they do. I rarely find myself disengaging from my work, but that’s because for the most part, I find my work very satisfying. I don’t like all the details—too much email, budgets hurt my head sometimes, and talking on the phone is one of my least favorite parts of the job, also driving and then finding my car in the vast parking lots of universities and corporations (the truth about why I hate malls. I get lost in the mall and it takes me forever to find my car,) but for the most part, I like my job.

Conductors live the longest because they love what they do. Oh yes, I would too! Listening to music, swinging a stick, wearing a tuxedo and having people clap! Yes! Sign me up! I want to do it!

What I most want for my kids is that they enjoy the work they do. That they find satisfying and meaningful employment that makes them feel they are changing the world.

How about having cooler stuff? Again, what you think is that people will envy your cool stuff, but in reality, probably not. Only in commercials do we notice what car our neighbor drives. I have no idea what anyone on my street drives. Most people I know have better cars than I do and everybody has better furniture and a better wardrobe and better taste in clothing. I don’t wish I were other people with their cool stuff. I’m cool with my own stuff. When I finally get another car, I will appreciate it, but I won’t be happier.

What about getting respect? Well, in reality, if you were rich and everyone was nice to you just because of that, you wouldn’t know who your real friends are. When people are nice to me, I know it’s because they like me and think that I rock. They do not think that I will do stuff for them because I probably won’t unless you count being invited to cool parties at our house.

You can’t control how others treat you. Even if you have money, some people are going to be rude to you. And maybe, that’s what makes us human. You can’t transport yourself into a pink cotton candy world where everyone is nice to you. That’s being a child. We have to grow up.

But, I can’t help thinking that if I had more money it would be fun to walk into a store and have people recognize me and want to come over and wait on me. Mostly, though, I’d settle for the rich promises in The Fiddler on the Roof.

I’d fill my yard with chicks and turkeys and geese and ducks
For the town to see and hear.
Squawking just as noisily as they can.
With each loud “cheep” “squawk” “honk” “quack”
Would land like a trumpet on the ear,
As if to say “Here lives a wealthy man.”

Published in: on May 17, 2013 at 5:10 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2013/05/17/if-i-were-a-rich-woman-what-would-i-do-then/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. This may go counter to what most people think, but, I always felt if I were rich, my life would be more about what to buy then how to live and time is too precious to waste hours on deciding what model boat or ten million dollar house to buy. I personally would rather spend my time reading and writing than shopping.

    And with riches comes mistrust. At least when one is poor or middle class, their friends are their friends because of who they are not money. And having money also means a lack of privacy. When you are rich, you have servants and “people” you pay around you all the time. Who wants that?


Leave a Reply

