Smoke in the sky in Granada Hills, Forbidden Fruit

fg 004

There is smoke in my neighborhood in Granada Hills; it is hard to breathe outside, I think running is out of the question. It might be bad for the lungs.

Weather changes us. When it is smoky, we want to stay indoors. When it is raining heavily for days, we tend to become depressed. When it’s dark for most of the time, people get depressed. When it’s sunny, we want to lie around in the sun and do very little.

In the South, where it is hot and humid, people have a tendency to get pretty lethargic. One wonders how they ever get anything done. You notice that people in the Netherlands, Germany and the Scandinavian countries are getting a lot more done than people in Italy, Portugal, Spain and Greece. Greece, Italy and Spain had great civilizations once, as did the Mayans in spite of their hog muggy climates, but eventually, these cultures went into a sleepy phase.

In most people’s day, they have a period of time when they are the most productive. For me, that is from the time I wake until around 2 or 3. After that, I slow down. It’s harder for me to work fast. I’m like a Southern country in the afternoon.

It’s good to plan your life around your own energy phase. But countries that are productive are not necessarily better countries. A developed country like the U.S. has a lot of growing up to do. As Douglas Adams said, We have digital watches and we have Mcdonalds and therefore we think we are smarter than the dolphins and they just muck around in the water while we build things and therefore they think they are smarter than us.

Next weekend we are going to SF for Mother’s Day to hang out with the girls, we’ll also go to Santa Cruz to see one of our authors. The party goes on. We have big plans, movies, dancing, sake, sushi, sending fire lanterns into the sky; we have body paint that glows in the dark, we have black flashlights. We have our own incandescent selves, all the ingredients of a party weekend.

I’m going to Forbidden Fruit, PEN USA’s spring fund raiser on Sunday at 4 pm. I’m not going with Mark which makes me kind of sad because I will have no one to talk with. I don’t like going to parties alone because I’m not good at going up to people I don’t know to make small talk. When I was president of PEN, I used to buy and fill three tables at their fund raiser and I lived and breathed PEN. That was in 2006, and seven years later, I’m not sure who will be at this event. Apparently none of my FB friends; I checked. But I told my FB friends to go. I want some of my friends to come so I have someone to talk with. Don’t let me be lonely. Oh and sign up for the Ireland workshop in June!

Inish Beg, West Cork Ireland, Jen Kohan

http://guestofaguest.com/los-angeles/calendar/2013/may/pen-center-usas-forbidden-fruit

Published in: on May 3, 2013 at 10:24 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/smoke-in-the-sky-in-granada-hills-forbidden-fruit/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hi there, the whole thing is going sound here and ofcourse every
    one is sharing facts, that’s actually fine, keep up writing.


Leave a Reply

