My birthday party, the Spanish prisoner

f 020

My birthday party is today! Margarita time! A few close friends are coming, a few Red Hen people, but mostly it’s just great friends and the daughter came down with her girlfriend from SF so we are going to live it up. And we are going to have chocolate cake and carrot cake.

And, not only that, but my money problems are solved! And it is not a scam! It even says in this scam letter that I’ve been previously scammed. And I never even told anyone that my college boyfriend didn’t pay for $2000 in back rent. I mean I complained about it over margaritas at the time but I never told anyone in the Republic of Burkina Faso. It’s a small landlocked African country, surrounded by six other countries, sort of the Paraguay of Africa, and the name Burkina Faso which the country adopted in 1984 means, “Land of Upright people,” or “Land of Honest people,” by that I assume they mean “Honest people who moved from Nigeria and brought with them the idea of the Nigerian scam.” In 1987, their leader was overthrown and unfortunately dismembered. Since Burkina Faso has one of the lowest GDPs in the world at $1200, it’s hard to imagine how they have almost one million dollars for me in their bank account. But there it is.

Scam letters usually come from the following countries: Nigeria is the most common followed by, Ghana, Benin and Burkina Faso. Here is the one I received on my birthday. The kind of scams that are perpetuated by the Nigerian government, called the 411 scams date back to the 19th century and the “Spanish prisoner scams,” where if an amount was paid to free a Spanish prisoner, the rest of the money could be retrieved. If it looks too good to be true, it probably is. But if Pierce Brosnan leans over to kiss me, I won’t worry whether it’s too good to be true. I’ll just close my eyes and kiss him back.

Attention: I am Mr Wadi Ahemdi from Ministry Of Finance Burkina Faso (Headoffice). This is to bring to you notice that after the conference meeting we had, The Government of this country realized that you are among those that involved in scam victim we have in our list to Compensate by the government of this country as instructions from United Nation(UN).The Governor of this state, Ouagadougou the capital city of Burkina Faso has instructed this office to forward your file to WESTERN UNION MONEY TRANSFER DEPARTMENT to pay you the sum of US$900,000.00 through WESTERN UNION .His Excellence the GOVERNOR has instructed the WESTERN UNION payment department Mr.Nnagi Abu to send the sum of $500,000.00 through his custody for easy receiver of your funds. You are to contact them now to ensure that your fund will be transferring to you once you send them the needed information to avoid wrong transaction. According to the demands of WESTERN UNION MONEY TRANSFER you are to receive your fund at the installment rate of $5,000.00 daily until the $900,000.00 is completely transferred to you accordingly. You are to contact them now with the bellow information to avoid wrong transaction. Your Full Name: Telephone Number: Your Country: Listen very carefully, tell Mr. Nnagi Abu that you advise to contact him by Mr Wadi Ahemdi from Ministry Of Finance here in Ouagadougou Burkina Faso;Bellow is their Contact Information. Name Mr. Nnagi Abu Telephone +22668303013 Please, do not forget to update me as soon as you receive your first payment. Best regards. Mr Wadi Ahemdi. F.A in Ministry of Finance Burkina Faso.

Published in: on April 27, 2013 at 12:48 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2013/04/27/my-birthday-party-the-spanish-prisoner/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Have you ever considered writing an e-book or guest
    authoring on other sites? I have a blog centered on the
    same subjects you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my viewers would appreciate your work. If you are even
    remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.


Leave a Reply

