Starbucks

k 001 let’s go to the water, I want to swim this weekend

I go to Starbucks a lot. I have a Starbucks card and it always has money on it, so it’s very easy for me to just race in, get a cup and leave. They make it super easy for you; but sometimes they ask you questions in Starbucks language. Last time I was in there the girls asks me if I want my coffee “in the clover,” and I said, sure. I had no idea what that meant and she told the barrista, “Clover, she wants clover,” and they got to work. I looked it up later on Google, you can find out the secret name of God on Google and found that clover is some special way of brewing that they have. By the way, the secret name of God is YHVH.

I also like Peets Coffee a lot, but there aren’t as many Peets. I always know where to find Starbucks. You turn around and there’s another one and another one. They are everywhere. San Francisco has a ridiculous number. Sometimes you can see the next one when you leave one, like you’re frog hopping around the city from Starbucks to Starbucks. I like New Orleans coffee with the chicory and I really love Stumptown Coffee from Portland, but I come back to Starbucks because it’s everywhere.

The slowest Starbucks that I’ve ever been to, and I’ve been to Starbucks all over the world, is the one at San Diego State University at the East Commons. Okay, how slow is it? You ask me? Okay, I have actually bought lunch because the line is so long so that I don’t get too hungry in the line. The lunch was a large spinach salad which took me twenty minutes to eat, but I had plenty of time while at the SDSU Starbucks. And I am always just getting coffee, but just waiting to order and receive my coffee at SDSU takes a good twenty minutes. You stand there and wait and they are not hustling at all. They are all so young and sexy and not in a hurry to get your coffee or actually do anything at all.

It’s funny, I don’t like going to chain restaurants because I believe the food is made in the same enormous vat somewhere and then shipped into Red Lobster and Macaronis or Olive Garden in the vat shipments. And I don’t like the idea of going to different Macaronis and getting exactly the same food here and there. That seems tedious and boring. But coffee? I like to know what I’m getting. Starbucks isn’t great coffee; it’s predictable coffee, I know what it’s going to taste like. I know it’s going to taste strong and there, and like, “Wake up, Kate, wake up! There’s work to be done!”

Published in: on April 15, 2013 at 9:57 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2013/04/15/starbucks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. was just searching for this information for some time. After 6 hours of continuous Googleing, at last I got it in your website. I wonder what is the lack of Google strategy that don’t rank this kind of informative sites in top of the list. Normally the top websites are full of garbage.watch


Leave a Reply

