What sucks about my neighborhood is almost everything.

kk 006 Descanso Gardens

Let’s start with restaurants. We have one nice little sushi bar in our neighborhood. Other than that, the restaurants really suck. There are a bunch of chain of restaurants and the sushi bar. Which is really small. They’ve got great oyster shooters, amazing hand rolls and great sushi. So, if you want ANYTHING to eat besides sushi, off you go to Ventura Boulevard.

Movies in my hood. Okay, so last night we decide to go to movies. Sushi and a movie. I wanted to see one of two movies: Story of Luke, The Company We Keep. Both of these movies look really good. But we live in an area that only has stupid movies. James Franco’s Oz movie and a stupid thriller and a kid movie and Olympus Has Fallen which we saw and if you keep reading, I’ll go ahead and ruin for you. To go and see a good movie, we would have had to drive to Hollywood. That’s the problem in LA. There is no way once you drive home, that you are going to drive to another part of Los Angeles.

Part of the reason, I am only at the Red Hen office one day a week now is that we moved it to Pasadena. On my non teaching days, I work from home because I already drive so much that I can’t bear getting in my car again.

So, my neighborhood has some good things. We can walk to our dentist, a small grocery store, Starbucks, our mechanic, an ATM machine, and a McDonalds we’ve never been to. And a Subway we have been to. So that’s all good.

Okay, so Olympus Has Fallen: Also known as Die Hard at the White House. Gerard Butler produced this film starring himself as a one man army who can defeat a whole crew of Korean bad guys who have taken over the White House. There are so many implausible story lines that I don’t know where to start, but let’s jump in. There is an emergency and the president takes a bunch of Koreans he’s just met into the secret presidential bunker with him when he’s whisked away to safety. His Secret Service guys tell him that it’s a bad idea, but he does it anyway. You guessed it. They turn out to be bad guys. While the bad guys have the president and the rest of the crew down there in the bunker, they start working them over and pretty soon they start bleeding out Norad codes and the whole planet is preparing for World War III. Seriously. I doubt that would happen. The president is a civilian, not a Green Beret, so I assume he and the vice president would not have information that could simply be tortured out of them.

I would not do well under torture, I’m sure of that. That’s not where my training lies. (What training? What am I talking about? I’m actually not trained for much.)

So, the movie was pretty stupid and if I lived somewhere different, we could have gone to a good movie. There was a lot of knife fighting and hand to hand combat. It made me tired.

“Well ain’t this place a geographical oddity! Two weeks from everywhere!” O Brother Where Art Thou?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2013/04/06/what-sucks-about-my-neighborhood-is-almost-everything/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I blog frequently and I truly thank you for your information.
    The article has really peaked my interest.
    I am going to take a note of your blog and keep checking
    for new information about once per week. I opted
    in for your Feed too.

  2. Hey there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and
    I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.


Leave a Reply

