Celebrations, wasting time

kk 010 still speeding

We don’t celebrate enough. Today, my friend Petra Eiko and I went to lunch at the Bel Air Hotel. I’ve been there several times over the years, and it is always very nice. The valets take my keys as nicely as they can. They’re super nice about my car thing. The place is like something out of a story book. There are swans balancing on the water, their necks arching under the blue and the palm trees, the whole place is enchanting and pink. The lunch was quite divine. We celebrate life and friendship. We don’t celebrate enough. We all work too hard. I liked having this moment in time.

We worry about wasting time. Today I went to AAA to get a transponder so that I can pay more driving around LA. I am tired of seeing others whiz by me in the carpool lanes while I suffer in the slow lanes. I’m not a slow lane kind of person. But I bet I’ll regret it when I see the bill for driving in those faster lanes. I will see how it goes and will inform my blog readers exactly how much I end up spending in this venture. At any rate, I had originally planned to get the transponder at AAA but when I got there I had to stay in line for 30-60 minutes for an $8 discount on the transponder. I don’t have that kind of time to sit around. That’s why I don’t go to the doctor if I can help it. They make you wait in the waiting room. I also don’t like to go to the DMV because you have to wait.

Rachel gave me a pearl necklace as an early birthday present. I like pearls and I like the necklace which is delicate and lovely. She said if I didn’t like it I could return it to Nordstrom. Of course I wouldn’t! I love it. It matches all the rest of my jewelry. Plus, I have no idea where Nordstrom is. I hear good things about Nordstrom though, sometime I might go there and find something fancy. That’s what they say when you’re from the hills, “Oh, you think you’re fancy?”

It’s amazing how good it feels to get enough sleep and to not be overworked. It feels great. I am working on stuff for Red Hen but for this week of spring break I am actually not completely exhausted. I’m kind of liking it.

Taking time to celebrate is not a waste of time. It is a good thing. We all need more time to celebrate. Enough time to rest. Enough time to breathe.

I liked going to this other place in time today with my friend Petra. Like entering another world.

Writing is a way of transcending one’s ordinary life and entering another time/space where you get to make up the rules. That’s what’s great about story telling. It’s like the swans in the waters at the Hotel Bel Air, you have entered another world.

Published in: on April 2, 2013 at 8:59 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2013/04/02/celebrations-wasting-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. You won’t need the transponder if you fly instead of driving. 🙂


Leave a Reply

