New writers win Red Hen Prizes, New deadlines coming up fast, win your prize!

March 16, 2011

We are pleased to announce the 2010 winners of Red Hen’s annual awards!

The winner of the Benjamin Saltman Poetry Award is Lillian-Yvonne Bertram, for her manuscript But a Storm Is Blowing from Paradise, which will be published in March of 2012 by Red Hen Press. Honorable mentions go to Rickey Laurentiis for “One Country”, and to Peg Peoples for “Stammer.” The award was judged by Claudia Rankine.

The winner of the Red Hen Press Short Story Award is Sarah Faulkner, for her story “American Heartbreaker,” which will be published in the next issue of the Los Angeles Review. Honorable mention goes to Paul Luikart, for his story “Fortune Teller.” The award was judged by Dylan Landis.

The winner of the Ruskin Art Club Poetry Award is Nicholas Gulig, for his poem “Lowland.” Honorable mentions go to July Cole for “Time When the Birds Turn Silver” and to Ezra Dan Feldman for “Three Scenes from the Ankle Down.” The award was judged by Elena Karina Byrne.

Thanks to everyone who submitted. Click here for submission guidelines for this year’s awards, which will be judged by David Mason, Rob Roberge, and Elena Karina Byrne. The first deadline is coming up fast: June 30th, for the Short Story Award.


The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: