What would the Dalai Lama do?

November 28, 2010

 November 28, 2010

 Going to Chicago this week for our biannual sales meeting.  It looks like it will be about 25 degrees while I am there which is a joy to imagine.  Of course, it hasn’t been much warmer here in Los Angeles.  A little chilly for my run today as a matter of fact. 

 All the time that I was running I kept thinking about the Dalai Lama and kept trying to understand what the meaning of compassion was.  Compassion means this.  If you ask yourself every day, what would the Dalai Lama do, that’s a good thing.  I want to be a person who acts with compassion, who lives with integrity, who writes more and dreams more, but you know that from reading my blog.  All day I kept thinking about this.  It’s better than what would Jesus do and even what would Gandhi do is pretty difficult.  I mean, Gandhi and Jesus saved their people but that’s pretty challenging to do, I don’t know, might be too much, even asking myself what would the Dalai Lama do is challenging, but I like it.  I like the answer.  Practice compassion.  Live in a world of peace. 

 I still keep thinking about Fair Game which really was a great movie.  The thing I did not like was how they use the terms “republic” and “democracy” interchangeably.  This country is not a democracy.  It’s a republic.  We vote for representatives and then they do whatever the corporations tell them to.  Big corporations run this country. 

 I admire Joe Wilson for standing up for what he believed in and I think this movie will be taught in the future on what’s wrong with the American system, but I don’t think it can be fixed at this point.  It’s broken.  The empire is at its end.

Published in: on November 28, 2010 at 8:51 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2010/11/28/what-would-the-dalai-lama-do/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 585 other followers

