Elegant Variation, Mark Sarvas as Brad Pitt or Lance Armstrong

 June 25, 2009

 It was great yesterday hearing Veronique de Turenne http://www.laobserved.com/malibu/, Dana Goodyear http://danagoodyear.com/ and Mark Sarvas http://marksarvas.blogs.com/elegvar/ talk about blogging.  Mark gets 15,000 hits a day.  That means there are whole cities of people who are Elegant Variations fans.  That means if he were running down the street and his fans ran after him, it would look like a rock start running, or Brad Pitt.  Wait a minute, Mark’s a cyclist.  It would look like Lance cycling and all those people after him.  Pretty impressive.  Like being a guru.  Mark could start his own religion. 

 Dana is the famous New Yorker writer, now transplanted to the land of pomegranates and honey and Veronique is well known for her Malibu blog, and she writes for LA Observed. They each admit that it’s playing with ideas and language, but that playing is a good thing.  We get so used to hunkering down to write our “big book,” that having something like a blog as play space is a good thing.  I am very unfamiliar with the idea of “play,” but I know other people do it and seem to like it.  So, I was into this idea because I have been feeling very guilty about blogging over the last month.  What if I stop writing and just do this?  What is this amounting to?  Am I becoming a slacker?  You can’t grow up in New England and then become a slacker.  It just isn’t allowed.  So this was all very comforting.  Plus, all three of them are so bright and motivated that it made me want to grow up to be just like them.  And when I do, I’m going to teach at USC like Dana.  And I’ll go to my first football game there and cheer.  I could put a Trojan banner up on my blog.  Trojan is the name of their marching band, you idiot, I’m not talking about condoms.  I could see where some of your minds were going so I had to stop that really fast.  These successful bloggers made me want to be the sort of grown up who plays sometimes.  Isn’t that what living in California is all about?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kategale.wordpress.com/2009/06/25/elegant-variation-mark-sarvas-as-brad-pitt-or-lance-armstrong/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hmm… I read blogs on a similar topic, but i never visited your blog. I added it to favorites and i’ll be your constant reader.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,260 other followers

