Lulu printing and other forms of self publishing—

 

February 28th, 2012, Tuesday

Self publishing used to be considered the worst thing you could do for your writing life.  I do not say “career” because as my blog readers know, I do not consider writing to be a career, it’s a life.  I would say that has not changed much.

 

Here’s what you can’t do with a self publishing book.

  1. Brag that you got a book accepted.
  2. Have a book that’s widely available
  3. Have a book that’s marketed or publicized unless you can afford to pay for that yourself.
  4. Get a teaching job as a result of that book.
  5. Have respect in the publishing world.
  6. Have the respect of your writing peers.
  7. Have a good looking book.  (with rare exceptions)
  8. Have the book in bookstores.
  9. Get the book reviewed.
  10. Get the book into libraries.

 

Someone asked me recently why Rio de Sangre the libretto wasn’t published by Lulu printing.   My first reaction was, “Wow, you have no respect for the world of publishing in which I work.   Why is your music recorded by regular record labels? You have a recording studio, why don’t you just record your music and rip CDs? “

 

The reason is that you have respect for the music industry as I have respect for the publishing industry.  Real books matter to me.  And Lulu is not producing a real book.

 

What happened with Rio was that very shortly before the opera opened in Milwaukee, we were told by the Florentine that they wanted to sell librettos at the opening.  If I had known in advance, I would have sent it out to see if I could get a small publisher to publish it, but there was no time.  Red Hen produced a small run  for the opening and they are regular books that entered our catalog, the only difference being that I don’t receive royalties on sold books which is fine with me.  I wanted to have printed books for the opening so people could read the libretto in English and Alicia Partnoy’s translation into Spanish.  And it’s a beautiful book, available through theUniversity of Chicago, Amazon, etc.

 

If it had been printed through Lulu, it would have been ugly, and we would have only had the copies for the opening and they wouldn’t have been worth having.  They wouldn’t be available later on Amazon, Barnes & Noble.com, bookstores, or at readings that I do around the country.  Lulu books are fine if you are printing up twenty copies of the family recipes for a family reunion, but they are not books.  They are a modern day version of the bound galleys Kinkos used to do.  I love actual printed books.  Lulus is producing bound pages.  Again, why not just rip CDs and sell them on Ebay and say you’ve had your music produced?

 

Because the product does matter.  It matters if books are produced by a publisher, edited and printed. And to suggest that Lulu is the same is an insult to the publishing world.

 

I think self publishing should serve three purposes:

 

  1. You have a specific audience in mind for the books and you have access to that audience.  For example, you own a chain of clinics for quitting smoking and you’ve written a book on the subject.  You can sell it at your clinic and keep the money.  I still suggest you hire a professional book designer so the end product looks good.
  2. You are producing the book for a small select audience—your Mormon family of 250 or your family reunion.
  3. You have one store willing to carry the book and the book is actually for a very small region.  My grandmother wrote a book on the history ofFort Collins.  She had a PhD in history and the book was well written and I believe it continues to sell inFort Collins.

 

What you don’t have when you self publish remains a problem for most self published books:  Editors, publicists, marketing people, and the all important three:  Distribution, distribution, distribution.

Published in: on February 28, 2012 at 6:10 am  Comments (9)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://kategale.wordpress.com/2012/02/28/lulu-printing-and-other-forms-of-self-publishing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog soon
    but I’m having a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m
    looking for something completely unique. P.S
    My apologies for being off-topic but I had
    to ask!

  2. Your own post has confirmed useful to me.
    It’s very informative and you are clearly very well-informed in this
    area. You have opened our eye to be able to various thoughts
    about this particular topic with intriquing, notable and reliable
    content.

  3. I’ll right away seize your rss as I can’t to find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.

    Do you’ve any? Kindly allow me recognise in order that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  4. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my
    comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that
    over again. Anyway, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  5. I’m now not positive the place you are getting your info, but great
    topic. I must spend a while learning more or working out more.
    Thank you for wonderful info I was in search of this info for
    my mission.

  6. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through
    some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and
    checking back often!

  7. Hi there, I discovered your blog via Google whilst searching for a related subject, your web site came up, it seems great.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply was alert to your blog via Google,
    and located that it is really informative. I am gonna be careful for
    brussels. I’ll appreciate if you proceed this in future.

    Lots of other folks will likely be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  8. I like looking through an article that will make people think.
    Also, thanks for allowing me too comment!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,290 other followers

